by Potseal
12/01/16 09:59 AM
Wow, that was close!
by jraef
11/28/16 07:06 PM
Earthquake in New Zeeland
by RODALCO
11/27/16 11:25 PM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Tjia1981
11/27/16 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
12.5A through 0.75mm flex (just out of curiosity)
Shout Box

Top Posters (30 Days)
gfretwell 13
HotLine1 9
Texas_Ranger 8
sparkyinak 7
Trumpy 6
Who's Online
0 registered (), 230 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#125210 - 07/07/04 01:26 PM A few questions about Electrical Codes/ Inspections
Anonymous
Unregistered

I am working at a new dance club in Seattle, WA which is currently being remodeled. The existing electrical system was a complete mess. I would have taken some pictures for you guys for the “Code Violation Pictures” section of this forum if I had known about this site. Anyway I'm not a professional electrician in any way, but I'm very organized with my work, and the veteran electrician that checked over my work said everything I've done so far looks good.
We’re not changing any of the lines into the breaker boxes, or the location of any of the boxes themselves. Yet nearly everything after each breaker box is being removed and replaced. We are using MC conduit to wire outlets and recessed can lights in each room.

1) The Seattle energy code limits the amount of permanent lighting you can have per square foot of floor space. For our building we found that the limitations are 1 watt per sq of common area, or 0.8 watt per sqft of bathroom. These numbers seem ridiculously low to me, as a 20w fixture is not enough to light a 5' x 5' bathroom. Is this code something I need to worry about? Or are those limitations just recommendations for an energy conscious building?