ECN Forum
Posted By: Trumpy Worst Electrical Offence? - 01/14/03 06:48 AM
What in your opinion, would constitute, the
worst ever Electrical Non-Compliance or
Negligence, in your eyes?
Lack of Earthing, etc, you decide, but at least put you 2 cents worth in-
Posted By: C-H Re: Worst Electrical Offence? - 01/14/03 07:53 AM
The worst I can imagine - and I can only imagine it as I've seen it - is a panel backfed via a randomize timer. Then disconnecting and checking doesn't protect you from electrocution.
Posted By: pauluk Re: Worst Electrical Offence? - 01/15/03 08:38 PM
Hard to choose.

Incorrect wiring on a generator transfer would get a vote as bad. Accidentally back-feed into the service and you could put 11kV on a supposedly isolated transformer.

As an ex-telephone engineer, I'd also have to vote for hazardous wiring that risks putting 240V mains (or worse) onto any telephone line. It's not a pleasant surprise!
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Worst Electrical Offence? - 01/16/03 06:05 AM
Paul,
I know what you mean, with respect to the Back-Feed, I was nearly killed when working on supposedly isolated 33kv lines and these in turn fed 400V lines below them(via the Xformer), but there was another trannie about 2km down the road, that was still live and it also fed the same lines.
Should have been wearing Live gloves, though,
I take my hat off to my mate, if not for him,
I wouldn't be typing this. [Linked Image]
Posted By: pauluk Re: Worst Electrical Offence? - 01/16/03 05:03 PM
Scary stuff, eh?! [Linked Image]

The possibility of a back feed is another reason for always clamping grounding sticks onto the lines after they've been de-energized.
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Worst Electrical Offence? - 01/25/03 05:14 AM
C-H,
What is a randomize timer?.
Just interested. [Linked Image]
Posted By: C-H Re: Worst Electrical Offence? - 01/26/03 01:58 PM