ECN Forum
Posted By: pauluk Hello from the U.K. - 08/11/01 10:09 AM
Hi everyone:

I'm an engineer in England and came across your board quite by accident a couple of weeks ago.

I have spent time in the States, and although I don't know the details of the NEC, I am familiar with your general wiring practices, etc.

It's really interesting to read your messages and compare the topics and problems being discussed with the sort of problems we run up against here in the U.K.

If anyone is curious about any aspect of how things are done over here, I'd be happy to oblige.
Posted By: sparky Re: Hello from the U.K. - 08/11/01 10:28 AM
Hi Paul;
tell us a little about wiring methods in the UK please, maybe some differences that you've seen would be interesting.
[Linked Image]
Posted By: Bill Addiss Re: Hello from the U.K. - 08/11/01 12:41 PM
Paul,

Welcome!
Yes, by all means share with us. I've heard that circuits are connected in a "Ring" How does that work and what are the benefits or downsides in doing that?

[Linked Image]
Bill
Posted By: electure Re: Hello from the U.K. - 08/11/01 05:00 PM
My welcome as well!
I'm quite intrigued with the way things are wired in different places.
Don't you have some sort of fusing at the point of use?
Posted By: pauluk Re: Hello from the U.K. - 08/11/01 10:38 PM
Hi Sparky,

There are so many differences between U.K. and U.S. practice that they could easily fill a book. Here are a few to start you thinking!

You may well know this already, but our standard residential service is 2-wire at 240V, 50 Hz, so all our domestic appliances run on 240V, not a mix of 120 and 240. The neutral is grounded ("earthed" in British terminology) so the hot wire ("live") is a full 240V with respect to ground.