ECN Forum
Posted By: packrat56 Catagory 6 Cable - 01/30/12 04:30 AM
I'm planning to run Cat 6 for a computer network system. I've never worked with Cat 6 before, is the color sequence for Cat 5e the same for Cat 6 or did it change?
Posted By: gfretwell Re: Catagory 6 Cable - 01/30/12 05:21 AM
As far as I know, you won't see any real difference at all except the writing on the jacket. I think the biggest difference is tighter tolerances on the cable and better terminating hardware.
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Catagory 6 Cable - 01/30/12 07:35 AM
Hi packrat,
I haven't used a lot of Cat 6 cable in the last couple of years, but yeah, as far as I am aware, the colours are the same.
I can't imagine why they would go and change the wire colours at all, in fact, if they did, some of the installers I know over here, would end up running home, crying, due to not knowing how to deal with such a move. whistle

One thing that the Cat 6 cable here has that Cat 5e doesn't, is a "X" shaped seperator between the twisted pairs, inside the cable sheath.
Posted By: packrat56 Re: Catagory 6 Cable - 01/30/12 08:16 AM
Thank you
Posted By: SparksFlying Re: Catagory 6 Cable - 10/30/14 03:49 PM
Cat 5 can run gigabit speeds, it just cannot be "certified" for gigabite speeds. Cat6 is designed especially for gigabit use and is "certified" for gigabite speeds.
Posted By: gfretwell Re: Catagory 6 Cable - 10/30/14 05:03 PM
My LAN runs 1gb with regular old CAT 5, not even "E".
Posted By: EV607797 Re: Catagory 6 Cable - 11/03/14 07:09 PM
The only other difference is that the conductors are 23 gauge, not the traditional 24 gauge as with CAT1 through 5E. It is hardly noticeable unless you're terminating hundreds of the CAT6 cables.
Posted By: wa2ise Re: Catagory 6 Cable - 11/03/14 09:07 PM