ECN Forum
Posted By: MaddMatt TVSS - 07/27/05 02:26 PM
I live and work in the southwest, where we experience serious seasonal monsoon storms with a lot of lightning. As a result, we have to deal with power surges quite a bit, not only from the storms, but with the POCO switching around grids during the subsequent repairs.

Due to this, TVSS's are a growth market in the area, primarily for computer protection in all office situations. In studying the suppliers tech data on the various units available, I've found a hole in the available information. Perhaps one of you could fill me in;

1. What is the efficiency comparison between quality type plug-in units compared to a panel mount?

2. Which is better? A higher, or lower "clamping Voltage" rating.

3. From the data that I have read, (supplied by the manufacture's ), is it really adviseable to combine panel mount TVSS with Plug-in strip type tVSS?
Posted By: Surfinsparky Re: TVSS - 07/31/05 03:33 AM
Well I am no expert on this but living in florida the lightning capital.We use surge arrestors at the panel and surge suppressors downstream.I took a hit last month with a arrestor on my panel guess it went bad but it wiped out my phones my low voltage lighting my secruity system tripped my 200 amp main but it did'nt get my cpu.I use a true sine wave ups that I plug into a suppresors and then a plug it into a gfci.The gfci seems too go bad but that is it.Anyway the way I see it the more the merrier.It is also nice to get one with a indicator.I don't think they can handle too many spikes.
Posted By: NJwirenut Re: TVSS - 07/31/05 03:17 PM
1. What is the efficiency comparison between quality type plug-in units compared to a panel mount?

Not sure how you would measure "efficiency" here, but a unit at the service entrance is FAR superior to ANYTHING installed at the point of use.