ECN Forum
Posted By: renosteinke Another original way to hang 4" - 08/07/06 09:25 PM
The general contractor decided to run some 4" PVC above the ceiling. Please note how he hung the pipe.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by renosteinke (edited 08-07-2006).]
Posted By: mahlere Re: Another original way to hang 4" - 08/07/06 10:13 PM
no pics reno
Posted By: Elviscat Re: Another original way to hang 4" - 08/07/06 10:26 PM
what gauge is that metal? it doesn't look like plumbers tape or anything.... all smooth and shiny, if I didn't know better I'd say it a strip off of a beer can.... please tell me it's not that.
-Will

[This message has been edited by Elviscat (edited 08-07-2006).]
Posted By: renosteinke Re: Another original way to hang 4" - 08/08/06 12:01 AM
OOPS! I'm still new at this...so thanks for the help- and the patience!
Posted By: iwire Re: Another original way to hang 4" - 08/08/06 12:04 AM
Just a wild guess but that looks to be air tube for a vacuum delivery system.

Like this

[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 08-07-2006).]
Posted By: renosteinke Re: Another original way to hang 4" - 08/08/06 03:54 AM
The metal straps are made of the strapping HVAC guys use to hang flex duct.

The pipe is used, not for electric work, but to route hoses for the soda dispenser.
Posted By: jeepmudman Re: Another original way to hang 4" - 08/08/06 07:28 AM
The thing I noticed was the slope the pipe was dropping in elevation, like a drain pipe.
Posted By: renosteinke Re: Another original way to hang 4" - 08/08/06 01:51 PM
Jeep, the line is pretty level; the ceiling has a good slope, though! (It may look like a floor, but that is actually the roof above the pipe). Either that, or a trick of the camera angle.
Posted By: giddonah Re: Another original way to hang 4" - 08/08/06 03:10 PM
If it's not for electrical, and the metal straps hold, is there a problem or are we just chuckling over his methods?