ECN Forum
Posted By: Admin C.T. Cabinet Shorted - 07/15/06 01:29 AM
This is a C.T. cabinet and the electrician decided to use some old terminal lugs instead of splice blocks to connect the wires and save some money. It looked neat and I almost approved it until I studied it further because something just didn't look right. Gut feeling or instinct. Then it dawned on me. The lugs were screwed to the plywood backboard with long wood screws. Long enough to penetrate all the way through the wood to the metal cabinet. If I had allowed it to be energized it would have flashed over behind the wood.

(Note; The local utility requires the wood backboard. I don't like it but, can't make them change.)

Alan Nadon
[Linked Image]
Posted By: napervillesoundtech Re: C.T. Cabinet Shorted - 07/15/06 04:28 AM
The utility *requires* this?!? That seems rather odd.
Posted By: RODALCO Re: C.T. Cabinet Shorted - 07/15/06 11:00 AM
Strange that the utility allowes the extra fire danger.
In NZ the CT cabinets are from steel, The bussections or blocks are mounted on insulated stand offs.
A PVC cover is fitted to cover the exposed bare copper terminals, underneath the CT chamber door to avoid direct touch contact to exposed live conductors.
Posted By: Alan Nadon Re: C.T. Cabinet Shorted - 07/15/06 04:27 PM
Utility requires the wood back to make it easier for them to mount different size current transformers. Listed CT enclosures are required to provide adjustable mounting brakets and to pass an ice test. This cabinet and others like it are listed only as junction boxes, not CT enclosures. For years the utility supplied them and they were utility property. Now with deregulation the contractor has to supply them but, this is the only style they will accept.
They have worked for years and I don't feel up to a fight with the utility company. [Linked Image]
Alan--
As Kenny Rogers sings: "Sometimes you hold 'em, sometimes you fold 'em, sometimes you walk away..."