ECN Forum
Posted By: ricker Question about electrical contracting - 01/18/08 04:37 AM
I currently work as a maintenence electrician at a local open pit mine, but I will soon have met all of the requirements to perform electrical work as a contractor. One of the reasons that I am doing this is to challenge myself, to see if I am really capable of succeeding on my own. Another reason, and perhaps the main reason, is that I like the work that we do. It is challenging both mentally and physically, and I have grown to enjoy it. My biggest concern is causing injury to someone by making a mistake, or faulty installation. This is why I believe that electrical work can't and shouldn't be rushed, lives are at stake. Has anyone else had this fear of the trade?
Posted By: sparkyinak Re: Question about electrical contracting - 01/18/08 04:57 AM
Lets put it this way, if you do not feel this way when you are working, I would seriously be wondering what was your malfunction? To me I use the feeling as a gauge. I'll do something, I double check it and sometimes I tripple check. It is not I doubt my skills, I do not allow complicacy to slip in on me on my work. There is no room for it in the electrical trade.
Posted By: ricker Re: Question about electrical contracting - 01/18/08 05:43 AM
Maybe it is just that now I am fully responsible, and it is making me a tad nervous. I can't say that anyone has ever been marred as a result of my work.
It's perfectly normal to fear the unknown. Not only will you be entering the 'brave new world' of contracting .... you'll be performing tasks quite a bit different from the ones you've been doing.

While the technical aspects may be pretty straightforward, the 'human' factors are another matter. Suffice it to say, here, that you will be amazed by some of the critters you encounter.
Posted By: sparkyinak Re: Question about electrical contracting - 01/18/08 04:21 PM
Originally Posted by renosteinke