ECN Forum
What are your thoughts when it comes to teaching the NEC?

[This message has been edited by Joe Tedesco (edited 02-23-2003).]
Joe,
i tire of the NEC's black/white doctrine, and the AHJ's captivity to it, as much of the NEC is without a shred of rationale

perhaps the answer is not the literal interpetation of each vowel & constonant of the NEC, but the efficy of the end result.
Sparky,
How do enforce the code if not to the letter, one persons idea of common sense is not the same as someone eles's, or do we just call you for your common sense.

Can you give an example of "much of the NEC is without a shred of rationale"

Bob
As an apprentice instructor I had to deal with several instances where a student pressed for clarification beyond everyone's social comfort level. I appreciated the fact that the class atmosphere was comfortable enough so that any studend felt free to speak their mind, and I tried --quite successfully, I suppose ;-) -- to not act like I knew it all, so that my vulnerability served as an invitation for them to challenge anything I might declare. I learned that the difficulties were visualization ones or simple sematic ones. The students take an indignant exception to anything that violates common sense. So, all that is needed is a clearer picture, so that the meaning is less reliant on words, but more on what they can see. Once I'm sure they were imaging the issue the same as me, then we could work on why the words were selected as they were.
I've never had a student dis me in any serious way, as long as I show that I respect that they are doing the best they can, with the imaginative tools they have available at the time.

There ARE times when people can flame a situation just for their own sick amusement though. I was at one conference where a guy was drunk, and belligerant, and was looking to stir up trouble. I guess that sort of thing has to be expected to eventually occur.