ECN Forum
Posted By: Joe Tedesco How Long Does It Take To Learn the NEC? - 11/20/02 07:40 PM
My Question:

How Long Does It Take To Learn the NEC?

My personal opinion:

As far as I am concerned it takes an entire career for anyone who is involved in the electrical industry!

I am still learning, and it has been almost 40 years now!

How much experience, or training should someone have before being introduced to the NEC?

The following comes from the NECH;

The National Electrical Code is not intended to be used as a design specification, or an instruction manual for untrained persons. The NEC is intended for use by capable engineers and electrical contractors in the design and/or installation of electrical equipment; by inspection authorities exercising legal jurisdiction over electrical installations; by property insurance inspectors; by qualified industrial, commercial, and residential electricians; and by instructors of electrical apprentices or students.

[This message has been edited by Joe Tedesco (edited 11-20-2002).]
Posted By: HotLine1 Re: How Long Does It Take To Learn the NEC? - 11/20/02 09:31 PM
Joe:
Like you said, it's a lifetime learning experience. I think that's why we have a mandatory continuing ed requirement here in NJ; EC's and AHJ'S

IMHO, I don't think that "anybody" knows the complete Code, the key is knowing where to locate the answer to your question!

John
Posted By: sparky Re: How Long Does It Take To Learn the NEC? - 11/20/02 11:17 PM
i figure on being buried with the edition out at the time....
I sometimes wonder if it's "Learnable"!
Posted By: Bjarney Re: How Long Does It Take To Learn the NEC? - 11/20/02 11:29 PM
Like HotLine said, you never quit learning the NEC. Part of one's understanding also comes with teaching others.

It used to amaze me how Joe McPartland could quote Code text. He musta' had a perfectly photographic memory.
Posted By: Ron Re: How Long Does It Take To Learn the NEC? - 11/21/02 12:33 AM