ECN Forum
Posted By: safetygal flexible cords - 08/28/12 07:16 PM
I was asked if the following use of flexible cord was OSHA and NEC compliant. I am a safety officer and electical compliance is not my strength. I would appreciate all feedback. These conditions are in an industiral site, not construction site.

1. Can flexible cord be used to hard wire a electric arc welding machine directly to a main disconnect? (No plug or outlet.) The machine is removed occassionally for maintenance, but has to be calibrated every time it is returned to service so the removal is not done frequently. Monthly may be the most frequent this is done.

2. Can a flexible cord be hard wired to a disconnect at one end, with a receptacle at the other end? (I've heard it called a pig tail.)
Posted By: gfretwell Re: flexible cords - 08/28/12 09:26 PM
The real question is if the welder is listed for cord connections at all. That could be the show stopper.

If so;
Yes and yes with the caveats that this cord can not be run through the wall, raceway or other structure, it must be free from the likelihood of physical damage and it must have the proper strain relieving grips on each end.

If it does list a cord and plug connection, a better alternative is a cord and plug on the welder going to a fixed point receptacle using regular chapter 3 wiring methods
Posted By: HotLine1 Re: flexible cords - 08/29/12 02:29 AM
I agree with Greg, but...the 'gray area' is how often is the welder moved? "frequent interchange" (400.7(6)) is open to opinions. If you are the compliance officer, that would be your call. Common trade practices on my side of the Hudson is Chapter 3 wiring to a receptacle, and a cord with cord cap on the unit.

The second part of your question (pigtail) IMHO is NO
Sounds like the cord is being used for fixed wiring. Again, the term 'pendant' is not defined within Article 100, and is also a 'gray area' and subject to opinion.