ECN Forum
Posted By: electure Question About Recessed Lights - 02/09/09 04:49 AM
Posted for George Little:

I have a question that may not be relevant in all States but here in Michigan they just adopted a version of the energy code that affects recessed lights in the insulation envelope of a residence. Is it equivalent to use an air tight recessed can with a open trim and/or a IC can and a trim that has the letters "AT" in the model number. I have had no experience with either.

Posted By: leland Re: Question About Recessed Lights - 02/09/09 06:09 AM
In Massachusetts,Yes. The 'AT' Is an enclosed fixture housing.
These must be used on the upper floors (attic) and between tenants (over under).
Posted By: frenchelectrican Re: Question About Recessed Lights - 02/09/09 07:09 AM
I do know in State of Wisconsin do required AT { air tight } for any area where it will be in concat with insulating materals { it don't matter if batt or blow in type }
And in France they just adopted not too long ago as well for recessed cans I do belive they have few additonal code requirement as well.

Merci,Marc
Posted By: HotLine1 Re: Question About Recessed Lights - 02/09/09 03:13 PM
Air tight cans with matching (AT) listed trims.

Posted By: George Little Re: Question About Recessed Lights - 02/09/09 05:13 PM
The issue that I am asking about has to do with the contractors using IC cans and then using AT trims. The claim is that the trim gives them the required energy code requirements. I have to believe that the trims used on the cans need to be Listed for use with that can and vise versa. I think the installer should be using AT cans in the insulation envelope to comply with the energy code and the can should be finished off with an AT trim.
Posted By: leland Re: Question About Recessed Lights - 02/09/09 05:32 PM
The way I understand it (I'll research more),One or the other or both will meet the standard.

Not an Inspector.