ECN Forum
Posted By: Admin Ever see anything like this? - 02/16/02 02:58 PM
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Joe,

I am going to try to upload a picture. Let me know if they come out. Have you ever seen a receptacle like this? I have been doing electrical work for more than 25 years now and I never saw one of these. Any idea? I have my own idea, but I figured I would go to an expert.

Caper

[This message has been edited by Webmaster (edited 02-16-2002).]
Posted By: Rabbit Re: Ever see anything like this? - 02/16/02 07:52 PM
Tell me you photoshopped that [Linked Image]
Posted By: Redsy Re: Ever see anything like this? - 02/16/02 09:09 PM
I guess it's a 17 1/2 amp receptacle
Posted By: sparky Re: Ever see anything like this? - 02/16/02 10:03 PM
The integral 'box divider' hints of AC / DC or other diversity included into one enclosure.......
Posted By: CTwireman Re: Ever see anything like this? - 02/17/02 01:07 AM
Wow!! Shouldnt this picture be in the international forum? [Linked Image]
Posted By: NJwirenut Re: Ever see anything like this? - 02/17/02 04:21 AM
I think this is an old TV/radio outlet, from the pre-cable days when almost every home had an antenna on the roof.

The bottom half is a standard 120 VAC outlet to power the set, and the upper half was connected to the 300 ohm twin lead from the roof mounted antenna. The antenna wire from the set was fitted with the strange mating plug. The box divider was to separate the LV and HV wiring inside the box.
Posted By: Bill Addiss Re: Ever see anything like this? - 02/18/02 01:07 AM
Do we know where this receptacle came from?

Harold, can you shed some light on this??

[Linked Image]
Bill
Posted By: harold endean Re: Ever see anything like this? - 02/18/02 04:58 AM
Joe,
My ex-foreman Jim found this receptacle while he was doing work in an old house. We both believe that the upper recepatcle has to do with an antenna. The word aerial appear on the receptacle.