ECN Forum
Posted By: Looee Job Outlook - 03/20/02 12:25 AM
I am in my first year of a two year electrician program at a tech school. I was wondering what kind of a job outlook there is for me? I'm not exactly young, I will be 30 when I graduate. I live in Minnesota, but I don't really see any ads in the paper or on the internet of people hiring in this state. I was also wondering how much employers look for secondary schooling for people they hire. Our teachers always tell us there are all kinds of electrician jobs out there, but I have been getting a little nervous lately.

Thanks,
Looee
Posted By: sparky Re: Job Outlook - 03/20/02 01:17 AM
Looee,
lately the service industry is all roses next to the manufacturing sector..

Having been in your shoes once, i wrote up a resume', with training, schooling, as well as a pix of me and my tools.

The pix was probably the corniest thing, but it drew attention enough to get my foot in a few doors.

..So i'm not proud when i'm hungry...
Posted By: BrianSparky Re: Job Outlook - 03/23/02 05:26 PM
I personally got into the electrical field, 'cause I figured, no matter what, people are going to need electricians. The electrical field is very broad as well, there are so many different areas you can get into. I have experience in residential, commercial, industrial and service work, including low voltage stuff like fire detection, security, cat 5, fiber optics and electronics and control work (sorry, it sounds like a resume).
I also attended a 4 year apprenticeship school throught the Independent Electrical Contractors (the non-union equivalent). Let me tell you it was the deciding factor for me landing my current job! The boss said he really likes an electrician with schooling, and the schooling has paid off in the field as well. I've heard from many experienced electricians two things: 1. they wished they had the schooling that is available today when they apprenticed. 2. they prefer a well rounded electrician.