ECN Forum
Posted By: e57 Electrician or Not? - 01/28/07 06:47 AM
Could someone please tell me what the difference is between a General and a Residential Journeyman? No, not just what laws are out there... These are the two new CA classifications...

I mean what is a "Residential Electrician"? And why would the skills or knowledge be any different?
Posted By: Lostazhell Re: Electrician or Not? - 01/28/07 09:14 AM
I've only taken the General Jman test, but I assume there wouldn't be all the fire alarm system, 3 phase, show window, 180VA/yoke, etc.. type questions on the test....
Posted By: jdo1942 Re: Electrician or Not? - 01/28/07 11:16 AM
In St. Louis we only have contractor licenses but as a contractor I can tell that there is a major difference between a good commerical or general electrician and an individual who is rated for residential. The residential electrical is good with romex and single phase. I have an individual who is a great residential guy but don't ask him to work solo in a commerical job. He just doesn't understand three phase and would have trouble with laying out circuits and motor loads. There any people who work in residential new construction all the time and there skills are good for what they do , just as a good commerical guy doesn't do well in the residential setting.
Posted By: jwhite Re: Electrician or Not? - 01/28/07 12:38 PM
I am not from california, but it is probably similar. here we have special low voltage, can only do lv, special residential, can only do residential and a couple other special licneces. we then have the general electrician though that term is not actually used.

One covers all of the above, the others are limits on what a person can do. And yes the skills sets are very different.
Posted By: renosteinke Re: Electrician or Not? - 01/28/07 05:15 PM
I believe that the distinction was first made by the IBEW. They have had, for some time, "Inside Wireman" and "Residential Wireman" classifications.