ECN Forum
Posted By: rmiell New Orleans question - 10/28/05 05:58 PM
From an e-mail I received:

"I am a New Orleans resident. Following hurricane Katrine, the levee near my home broke. My home (built in 1987)is a two-story, wood frame, vinyl siding. The flood water stood in my home at a depth of about six feet for about ten days. It covered all of the switches and outlets on the first
floor, and the circuit breaker box.

I'm sure that the switches and outlets will have to be replaced, as well as the circuit breaker box. Will the wiring be OK?"

Any thoughts?

I referred him to a previous post which had the link to NEMA's paper.

Rick Miell
Posted By: Steve Miller Re: New Orleans question - 10/28/05 06:34 PM
Sprayed by rain is one thing, but under water is another. By now the paper within the cable (AC or NM) is saturated and the deterioration has already begun. My opinion ... it needs to go away.
Posted By: Tesla Re: New Orleans question - 10/28/05 07:12 PM
The mold problem demands that everything comes off. Expect to strip down to the framing and dry it out. With wet weather comming, that may be quite a wait. (Tenting, heated blown air?)

All affected electrical is virtually guaranteed to be ruined. Consider jacking the struture up on stilts. This is widely done in Florida. I expect that the government/insurers are going to insist on it in many areas.

More than likely the house is a total loss. It is cheaper to just scrape it down and start over. New construction is so much cheaper per foot than massive repairs.
Posted By: LK Re: New Orleans question - 10/28/05 11:01 PM
As they say, when you are ordered out of an area for possible flooding, don't forget to leave a cake in the oven.
Posted By: e57 Re: New Orleans question - 10/29/05 12:30 AM