ECN Forum
Posted By: jkraft alarm system wiring - 09/01/05 06:19 PM
I'm quoting the installtion of an alarm system in an existing school and I've never done this type of work before. Lots of horns, strobes and detectors. Any tips for the first timer?

Joe

All equipment is National Time and Signal

[This message has been edited by jkraft (edited 09-01-2005).]
Posted By: macmikeman Re: alarm system wiring - 09/01/05 07:22 PM
Two questions. Is it fire alarm, or burglar alarm?. Second question, is you state you are a first timer, does that mean in the first timer in the electrical field, In which case I am all done here, or are you a first timer in alarms?
Posted By: jkraft Re: alarm system wiring - 09/01/05 09:23 PM
Ha Ha, first time on an alarm job this big. I started in the electrical field in 1973. It's fire alarm stuff.
Posted By: JCooper Re: alarm system wiring - 09/01/05 09:26 PM
The biggest problem I see on existing fire jobs is that the paperwork was not kept up in the beginning, make sure to mark up all your prints with cable routes, splice points and detector addresses if using an addressable system. At the end of the job make a nice copy and leave it on site, it saves a lot of headaches further down the road. Fire work can be very simple if you take it one piece and one circuit at a time, when in doubt, rtfm.
Posted By: Larry Fine Re: alarm system wiring - 09/01/05 10:52 PM
I'd like to offer some advice: I looked into doing some security work in a job that was large enough the the system would be inspected.

I found out that there are requirements in Va. that one has to apply to the Justice Dept. or somesuch, with a non-refundable $600 app. fee.

The job slipped along faster than I could motivate myself to delve deeper into the quagmire. But check in your locality.
Posted By: LK Re: alarm system wiring - 09/01/05 11:19 PM