ECN Forum
Posted By: russ m firefox web browser - 05/01/05 03:43 PM
Just downloaded the free firefox web browser from mozilla.
Seems to be faster than internet explorer.
Anybody else using this.
The pages on this sight seem to come up much faster.

Russ
Posted By: iwire Re: firefox web browser - 05/01/05 03:47 PM
I have been using it for a about 6 months now and I do like it.

It happens that I still use IE for the web forums as my spell checker program will not work in Fire fox. Fire fox also displays the page a little differently.

I do use it for almost all my other browsing and it is faster and IMO has better pop up control than IE.

Bob
Posted By: iwire Re: firefox web browser - 05/01/05 03:51 PM
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/
Posted By: russ m Re: firefox web browser - 05/01/05 04:01 PM
I'm going to keep IE also, but I'll play around with FF to get use to it.
Posted By: iwire Re: firefox web browser - 05/01/05 04:06 PM
I think you will like it.

If I find a spell checker for firefox that works as well as IeSpell does in IE I would abandon IE altogether. [Linked Image]

I am no fan of Microsoft. [Linked Image]
Posted By: Nick Re: firefox web browser - 05/01/05 04:41 PM
Here is a tip to make Firefox even faster:

1.Type "about:config" into the address bar and hit return.
Scroll down and look for the following entries:
network.http.pipelining
network.http.proxy.pipelining
network.http.pipelining.maxrequests

Normally the browser will make one request to a web page at a
time. When you enable pipelining it will make several at once,
which really speeds up page loading.

2. Alter the entries as follows:
Set "network.http.pipelining" to "true"
Set "network.http.proxy.pipelining" to "true"
Set "network.http.pipelining.maxrequests" to some number like 30 or even 50 or so.
This means it will make 30 requests at once.

3. Lastly right-click anywhere and select New-> Integer. Name
it "nglayout.initialpaint.delay" and set its value to "0". This