ECN Forum
Posted By: tkb Snow Melting Cable - 01/29/05 02:37 PM
I finally decided that I need to install some snow melt cable on my roof and gutters.
Bad ice damming and icicles.
I know that Raychem makes this product, but it may be a little expensive.
Any recommendations on a particular manufacturer that can be cut to length in the field?
Posted By: golf junkie Re: Snow Melting Cable - 01/29/05 04:20 PM
Raychem, Thermon, Chromalox all make heat trace. The good stuff is expensive.

Make sure you get all the accessories that you need. Power taps, t-stats, end caps, tees, etc.

Make sure that you power this with an EPD breaker. You might want to rethink this as a DIY project, the consequences for error are pretty extreme.

GJ
Posted By: tkb Re: Snow Melting Cable - 01/29/05 04:40 PM
This is a DYI for myself.
I am an electrical contractor with 25 years in the trade. Mostly commercial and industrial.
I haven't installed any snow melt on a house before though.
What is an EDB breaker. I thought it had to be on a GFI breaker?
Posted By: capt al Re: Snow Melting Cable - 01/29/05 05:04 PM
Tim welcome to ECN. Do I need to drive the van over and show you how to do this? Seriously Tim it up to how much you want to spend. You get what you pay for and New England winters are not easy on the cable. I removed my ice melt system when I replaced my roof and had ice and water shield installed. I'll get you the name of the product I used. It was on the roof ten years with no problems. A little pricey but well worth it.

Al
Posted By: tkb Re: Snow Melting Cable - 01/29/05 05:14 PM
Hi Capt Al,
I'd rather you climb my roof than me. Don't we both need IIA ladders? [Linked Image]
I don't mind spending the money if the product lasts 10-20 year.
Posted By: iwire Re: Snow Melting Cable - 01/29/05 05:19 PM
Don't we both need IIA ladders?

I can vouch for that. [Linked Image]

I am also catching up on you two.

Tim Raychem makes different price lines, you do not need the $10.00 per lin ft stuff.