ECN Forum
Posted By: tomselectrc advice? - 11/30/04 02:14 PM
here is the situation,Im a new contractor and one of my guy's is ready to take his jourenymans test. We work together at for 3 years before i started my own. Unfortonatly my boss(god rest his soul) passed away suddenly.All his hours were doumented,but never noterised.Here in michigan thats reqired.He has four aprentis cards regesterd with the state.We have a meeting with the board soon.I was wondering if anybody had any advice or help? It would be ashame for him to lose all those houres.
Posted By: earlydean Re: advice? - 11/30/04 02:22 PM
Can't you have the cards notarized? A notary public just puts his seal on a statement that the person before him has sworn that the info is true.
Posted By: watthead Re: advice? - 11/30/04 02:38 PM
Tom
Dig him up and take him to the closest notary. Just be sure to cover the hole while you are gone so as not to take on any additional liability. It might be best to do this at night. I just couldn't resist this one earlydean and mean no harm. For what it's worth I would rely on the board to do the right thing in this situation.
Posted By: SolarPowered Re: advice? - 11/30/04 05:40 PM
Do I understand correctly that you were working with him during that time? If so, perhaps you can sign for his time, and have your own signature notorized. What, exactly, are the requirements for who has to sign for the time?
Posted By: Anonymous Re: advice? - 11/30/04 08:36 PM
I would think that someone,wife or family member, had to close out his business affairs and would possibly have power of attorney to sign for him.
Posted By: hbiss Re: advice? - 11/30/04 09:44 PM
Power of attorney "dies" with the person it covers.

-Hal
Posted By: Anonymous Re: advice? - 11/30/04 10:19 PM
Hal,
I did not realize that. Will post a related topic in the business section and set an appointment to see my attorney in the very near future regarding this!
Posted By: mustangelectric Re: advice? - 11/30/04 11:37 PM