ECN Forum
Posted By: hypress A Lesson In Screws - 11/22/04 03:59 AM
Today I was hanging a front poarch light on a friends house. The screws that mount the fixture to the mounting bracket were to long so I cut them off and tried to screw them into the bracket and they would not fit. No problem I got anouther 8/32 it would not fit ether both 8/32??? WRONG.It seems that the mounting screws were 4mm. Now I have been an electrician for 30 years and this is the first time I have seen metric screws on a residential light fixture. Now I have seen european process equipment that'sto be expected but residential lighting??? I guess we are going to have to get metric screw cuters now. Has any one else run across this. THANKS HYPRESS
Posted By: e57 Re: A Lesson In Screws - 11/22/04 04:06 AM
Yep, all those high end LV hand blown glass too expensive for my house jobs. My favorite is metric mounting plates, holes are set wider than 3/0, and smaller than 4/0.
Posted By: Speedy Petey Re: A Lesson In Screws - 11/22/04 05:04 AM
I run across tham all the time. They are in many of the cheap crap Chinese fixtures sold in the big obnoxious stores.
Now I have nothing against the Chinese, or any other race, but the quality of their products is terrible.
Posted By: hbiss Re: A Lesson In Screws - 11/22/04 05:59 AM
If you can use a regular screw (it's not a fancy brass thing) just run the 8-32 part of your triple tap through the hole. Then it will be 8-32.

You do carry a triple tap don't you?

-Hal
Posted By: smokumchevy Re: A Lesson In Screws - 11/22/04 09:56 PM
Gotta luv those tripple taps.... don't leave home without one myself.

-Greg
Posted By: pauluk Re: A Lesson In Screws - 11/22/04 10:06 PM
We have a similar problem here in England.

Around 1970 the electrical industry switched to metric, adopting 3.5 mm threads on device boxes. Prior to that, device fixing screws were 4BA (BA = British Association).