ECN Forum
Posted By: Lee can someone help me out with this blue print - 10/31/04 12:42 AM
http://s14.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=B650D5CC4E57DCAB2772359E09F0B0FA

i just want your thoughts on how you would approach this...

i'll be running conduit from the J-box on the right side straight to the panel. I will also run conduit through the 4-ways.

...now im a rookie at this but i have a good idea of what im doing. your help would be much appreciated. thanks.
You first. How about drawing some wiring on that plan.

-Hal
I get "file transfer unavailable"
Posted By: LK Re: can someone help me out with this blue print - 10/31/04 04:02 AM
What Plan?
Posted By: Lee Re: can someone help me out with this blue print - 10/31/04 04:21 AM
here it is again. oh and its commercial
http://s5.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=38C3660ECF00BF9F63A9FC903BD78714
Posted By: e57 Re: can someone help me out with this blue print - 10/31/04 11:28 AM
Hard to know what is going on there with out knowing which swithes will control what, or what the circuit wires are.

Phase, nuetral, travellers, switch wire, etc. At first glance it seems there may be an extra wire on the 4-way side, not enough on the 3-way side. But can't tell really.
Lee, welcome!

I see you're a student. You wouldn't be asking us to do your homework, would you??

I don't see how the 4 ways are connected to the lighting in the hallway.

Although it's only my personal thing, I prefer not to run the travellers through the downlights (as in the large room)
I never use "J" boxes if at all possible to omit them. There is no reason for them in this plan.
4-way switches are used when there are more than 2 switching locations, but the first and last switch in such a run are 3-way switches.
The number of conductors between 4-way switches is three, not 4 as shown, but then the switching sequence is not really indicated. Maybe this wiring is required.