ECN Forum
Posted By: AndyP School - 09/11/04 06:00 PM
Well I started my first day last Wednesday a three hour class. The instructor made us read out loud which was no big deal at all. I was shocked and surprised at how many people had trouble reading it was pretty bad. All in all, it's going to be a long road for me hehe.
Posted By: MONOLITH Re: School - 09/11/04 06:15 PM
If you don't mind, what exactly are the details of the course you're taking?

I was an Apprenticeship Instructor for ABCI for 6 years. Your post jogged some funny memories for me, as making the class read aloud was usually a tactic used when a teacher didn't feel like actively teaching that day, and was just filling time. [Linked Image]

[This message has been edited by MONOLITH (edited 09-11-2004).]
Posted By: AndyP Re: School - 09/11/04 06:30 PM
I'm going to a school called Associates builders and contractors. Basically a four year deal I have to complete.

Electrical 1:

Electrical safety (12.5 Hours)
Hand Bending (7.5 Hours)
Fasteners and Anchors (5 Hours)
Electrical Theory One (7.5 Hours)
Electrical Theory Two (7.5 Hours)
Electrical Test Equipment (7.5)
Introduction to the NEC (2.5)
Raceways, Boxes and Fittings (12.5)
Conductors (15)
Introduction to Electrical Blueprints ( 7.5)
Wiring: Commercial and Industrial (15)
Wiring: Residential (15)
Posted By: MONOLITH Re: School - 09/11/04 06:33 PM
Yep. ABCI = Associated Builders and Contractors.

I taught for them in Florida. I taught 1st and 2nd year. The very class you're taking.

Are you using the "wheels of learning" books?
Posted By: CharlieE Re: School - 09/11/04 10:22 PM