ECN Forum
Posted By: Haligan What are Non-'Line to neutral' loads? - 04/20/04 06:43 PM
I'm studying the Code dilligently and come across the 'line to neutral load' reference frequently. And I understand that fine.

What are examples of non- line to neutral loads? AC has to have return current.
Posted By: cpalm1 Re: What are Non-'Line to neutral' loads? - 04/20/04 06:49 PM
in the U.S., 220 volt circuits would be an example of non-line to neutral loads. 220 is a line to line load.
Posted By: CTwireman Re: What are Non-'Line to neutral' loads? - 04/20/04 07:08 PM
cpalm1,

You are correct. However, "220" volts is an amateur term (IMHO) and should not be used.

Peter
Posted By: iwire Re: What are Non-'Line to neutral' loads? - 04/20/04 07:42 PM
I hear you Peter but perhaps cpalm1 is from outside the US judging from his post.

Here are the 'Standard' voltages.

120, 120/240, 208Y/120, 240, 347, 480Y/277, 480, 600Y/347, and 600 volts shall be used.

208. 240, 480, and 600 are all line to line voltages.

I have only run into 347 once, and that was feeder for some sound equipment strangely enough.
Posted By: Edward Re: What are Non-'Line to neutral' loads? - 04/20/04 07:53 PM
Haligan,
where are you studying the code? At home or you are taking a code class?

Edward
Just for information Canada primarily uses 600/347v.(ltg,motors etc.), very little 480/277 unless we get American equipment
Posted By: Haligan Re: What are Non-'Line to neutral' loads? - 04/20/04 08:50 PM
Edward-

I'm studying at home. In rainy California.

The answer to this question answered part of another issue I've been scratching my head about.

On line-line loads such as 240 mentioned, I understand here is a potential difference of 240v between both ungrounded conductors, and 120v potential between each ungrounded and grounded. So where is the return path for the current. None of my books go that deep into it. I'm guessing it's going throught the groundING conductor.