ECN Forum
Posted By: topsparks Electrical Abbreviations - 09/25/03 10:01 PM
Hi

I am studying to be an electrician and keep coming across various abbrevitions that i dont fully understand. Please could somebody explain to me what the following abbrevitions mean.

Uo
Uoc
Ib
In
Iz
It
P

also are there any books that focus on electrical calculations,abbreviations etc
Posted By: Redsy Re: Electrical Abbreviations - 09/25/03 11:54 PM
Vo= Volts out, or output
Voc= Open circuit voltage
Ib= current in "B" phase
In= current in neutral
It= total current
P= power
Z=impedance(not sure about Iz)
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Electrical Abbreviations - 09/26/03 04:40 AM
Iz is the current flow through an impedance. [Linked Image]
Posted By: pauluk Re: Electrical Abbreviations - 09/26/03 08:06 AM
Hi there topsparks, and welcome to ECN.

I see from your profile that you're in London, which from the abbreviations you are quoting I take to be London, England and not London, Ontario. [Linked Image]

The current references listed have specific meanings according to the British IEE, and the subscripts they use aren't particularly logical:

Ib = Design current of circuit

In = Rating of protective fuse or circuit breaker

It = Tabulated current rating of cable, i.e. the basic cable rating from the tables

Iz = Rating of cable in specific situation, i.e. after the application of correction factors for temperature, grouping, etc.

You can see some notes and worked examples relating to these at this link: http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Book/4.3.9.htm

The adoption of the symbol U for voltage is another of those amendments the IEE made to "harmonize" with common European standards. A subscript "o" is commonly used to refer to a nominal level, hence the use of Uo to refer to the nominal supply voltage.
Posted By: Redsy Re: Electrical Abbreviations - 09/26/03 10:48 AM
Interesting, Paul.
Thanks for the explanation!
Posted By: Trumpy Re: Electrical Abbreviations - 09/26/03 12:21 PM