ECN Forum
Posted By: DougW What do you do on the side? - 06/18/03 12:13 AM
Maybe just a FNG question, but thought it might be worth askin'...

Seen several mentions in other posts about occupations other than electrical (i.e. Fire Service), and it makes me wonder...what do you folks do other than the electrical biz? Which one do you consider your "primary" or "secondary" occupation?

To lead it off, I've been a full time Firefighter / Paramedic (24/48) for a suburban department outside of Chicago for 8+ years. I consider it my "primary" job, since I've been doing it longer, and I'm building a pension at it. Electrical work takes place on my "off" days.

On the flip side, my foreman is a Lt. on our volunteer dept., and considers electrical to be his F/T gig. No hard feelin's or conflicts, as the combo works well for the shop. (We're too small during slow periods for 3 F/T'rs, and they know I have another source of income)

Just curious.

Doug
Posted By: sparky Re: What do you do on the side? - 06/18/03 12:36 AM
I do EMS
Posted By: Roger Re: What do you do on the side? - 06/18/03 12:47 AM
Doug, off the subject but relevent to your status, save yourself some grief and drop the FNG title. [Linked Image]

Roger
Posted By: NJwirenut Re: What do you do on the side? - 06/18/03 01:57 AM
The electrical work is a sideline here.

Full-time gig is as an electronic instrument designer for an environmental engineering lab. Lots of long-term field installations of water quality and meteorological stations, as well as the design and construction of specialized instruments that we cant purchase commercially.

The field installations often involve either photovoltaics/inverters or utility power to run the equipment, so my employer actually paid me to get my electrical license a few years back, so they would have someone on staff, and not have to hire out the power wiring.