ECN Forum
Posted By: rj new guy - 01/25/03 04:12 AM
Hello I am new to the web site and discussion area. I have read a lot of information and I really like reading what has been discussed. I have learned many new things from the site, and I hope to learn more. Does anyone know of any good books to help a person learn and help retain what they have learned? My boss tells me that I am not picking the trade up very fast and that I should be able to do more than I have been doing. I will admit it takes me a little longer to learn some things than others. My boss has been in the business for 30 years and is a lot faster than me. Any suggestions to help me retain more?
Posted By: ga.sparky56 Re: new guy - 01/25/03 04:58 AM
Welcome rj, Are you getting all the info you need? I heard the same s....t for 3 years from 2 different ec's. No matter what I did Iwas never smartor fast enough for them. I learned how many ways you could do something right and still be wrong,because "thats not the way I want it done stupid" usually in front of everyone else on the job.Fortunately, I found a good man to work for, stayed with him 14 yrs.Maybe rj, its the teacher not the pupil!
Posted By: rj Re: new guy - 01/25/03 05:16 AM
I have been told by another guy in the shop thatmyboss really is not a teacher. I have learned more from the other guy than my boss. I really enjoy working in the trade. My boss gets mad when I ask the other guy questions and not him, when I do ask my boss he ask me the same question back just saying it different. Thanks for repling.
Posted By: Bill Addiss Re: new guy - 01/25/03 05:24 AM
rj,

Welcome!
Which areas do you think you are weak in?
If you can give some specifics it might help.

Bill

[This message has been edited by Bill Addiss (edited 01-25-2003).]
Posted By: Happi_Man Re: new guy - 01/25/03 06:42 AM
good question Bill...
Posted By: rj Re: new guy - 01/25/03 03:19 PM