ECN Forum
Posted By: Albert GE low-voltage remote control relay system - 01/28/12 03:22 AM
By way of "re-introduction", since I haven't posted for a long time: I'm not an electrician but am interested in all things electrical, especially historical topics on both sides of the meter.

Anyway, I just came across some photos of a spectacular GE low-voltage installation, which I thought might be of interest:
GE relay installation

This has so many cool features, I don't know where to begin. Aside from the wire-management technique, there's the extra relay in the 1900 box on the end of the trough (why?), and the slightly "listing" relay to the left of the EMT run (maybe it's in a 3/4" KO?)

I've seen a few photos of "interesting" GE relay setups over the years, but this is by far the most impressive!
Albert:

Welcome back! Jump in and post away!

GE LV lighting controls were numerous here (NNJ), and there are some still around. Yes, I believe the pieces are still available.

The 'listing' on probably just needs to be set back in the KO. The 4x4 was possibly just an 'add-on' to use the KOs.
Thanks, HotLine1!

Yes, in fact GE still makes the relays and switches, though the switches and relay boxes ("tubs") are different and some of the components (that 1960s-cool two-knob master switch, and the motor-driven master controller) are no longer made.

The relays actually have some nice features for modern control systems: the latching function lets the system maintain its condition through a power failure, the separate ON and OFF coils give positive control, and the pilot contacts (on the RR9 relay) provide for indicator lights and status supervision.