ECN Forum
Posted By: falcondfb water damage on lugs and buss - 09/07/11 04:20 AM
We have been busy the last week getting power restored to people in northern new jersey. I have a couple of homes with damage to the panel buss because the panels were energized. we are just going to replace them. Today we went to a commercial property with a 1200 amp 3 phase switch gear where the feeders lands on lugs at the end of the buss. The service was hot under water and now have white corrosion on them. the buss has rust and obvious signs that it was under water. I am no engineer so what is the typical course of action in dealing with this issue??
Posted By: HotLine1 Re: water damage on lugs and buss - 09/07/11 04:29 AM
Falcon:

You can read the NEMA reccomendations here on this link:

http://www.nema.org/stds/water-damaged.cfm

It's not NEC verbatum, but....remember 110.3 (b) (Mfg instructions)

Resi stuff is trashed basically. Large comm/ind gear may be 'factory' (mfg) certified as refurbished. Factory costs and timeline vs. replacement $$ are an important factor.

based on your description, lugs are replacable.....buss is an an issue.

Posted By: falcondfb Re: water damage on lugs and buss - 09/07/11 04:35 AM
wow you are quick. I just came across that link in another post and didn't get back in time to say so. It looks like a call to the mfg is in order.

Thank you for the quick response, again
Posted By: Tesla Re: water damage on lugs and buss - 09/07/11 05:42 AM
If the bus is Al I'd expect it to be totally trashed.

If copper...?

I'd expect that either way -- it's going to be replaced.

That level of flooding normally requires gutting.

Flood damage that high had to effect a lot more than just the Service.
Posted By: mikethebull Re: water damage on lugs and buss - 10/13/11 02:51 AM
There was a lot of homeowners last year that wanted electricians to "sign-off" on houses that were flooded out in the big rains. This was due to the insurance companies.
"