ECN Forum
Posted By: nrp3 opinions on daylight harvesting - 02/21/09 12:17 AM
I am bidding a job that may have daylight harvesting controls. I brought in a lighting designer that is including it in the lighting package. I have never worked with any of these controls before and want it to work well for the customer. Its only one part of facility (a health club) with glass on three sides of this area with high ceilings.

Like most new technology, it sounds great, but implementing it might be another thing, never having used it before. I'd rather drop it from the bid before I install something that will be a headache
Posted By: Retired_Helper Re: opinions on daylight harvesting - 02/21/09 02:29 AM
Originally Posted by nrp3
I am bidding a job that may have daylight harvesting controls. I brought in a lighting designer that is including it in the lighting package. I have never worked with any of these controls before and want it to work well for the customer. Its only one part of facility (a health club) with glass on three sides of this area with high ceilings.

Like most new technology, it sounds great, but implementing it might be another thing, never having used it before. I'd rather drop it from the bid before I install something that will be a headache

OK, this one was new to me. Here's a quote: "The concept of daylight harvesting is simple. Digital photo sensors detect daylight levels and automatically adjust the output level of electric lighting to create a balance. The goal is energy savings."

The quote is from this site which I found via a Google search. At first glance, it sounds useful and practical. confused

Posted By: nrp3 Re: opinions on daylight harvesting - 02/21/09 02:34 AM
At first glance... I like learning new things, but not using my customers as guinea pigs either.
Posted By: SteveFehr Re: opinions on daylight harvesting - 02/21/09 03:35 AM