ECN Forum
Posted By: leespark Need New Set of Testers - 01/16/09 04:27 PM
I am mourning the death of my Greenlee DCV 10 testers which recently passed away.

http://www.yf-instruments.com/greenlee/DVC-10.shtm

I have been using this type of testers for almost 20 years and have been nursing this pair along for a couple of years because I knew they had discontinued the model. I have used the new version Greenlee came out with but I don't like them, they just don't feel right in my hands.

I liked having one of the probes on the body of the tester itself and having only 1 test lead. This is probably why they don't make them anymore due to the fact they don't have replacable test leads. I liked the digital readout, audible continuity, the ability to test low voltage and the carrying case.

The only other testers that are close in my opinion is the Fluke T5-600:

http://www.transcat.com/Catalog/productdetail.aspx?itemnum=T5-600E

I just wanted to get others opinions before I pull the trigger.
Posted By: KJay Re: Need New Set of Testers - 01/16/09 11:22 PM
Personally, I think you’ll be grazing on greener pastures and much better off with the Fluke T-5 anyway.
But, I noticed that Extech has the VT-10 and VT-30 testers, which look like they may be similar to your old favorite DCV-10. They even have the built in flashlight.
Extech

If you’re a dedicated Greenlee fan, they have the CSJ-100 open jaw meter, similar looking to the Fluke T-5.
Greenlee

Posted By: Obsaleet Re: Need New Set of Testers - 01/17/09 04:06 AM