ECN Forum
Help,

I'm a residential electrician and don't work much with 3 phase power. My question is on a 3 phase 480 volt system is it abnormal to read 490 volts? I have a ac unit rated for 460 volts (nominal voltage) however as stated we are reading 490 volts at the unit. Is this a reason to be concerned? I should mention there are 3 other units on the roof also rated 460 volts and are operating normal.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.....
It's very likely a 480 volt supply system and 490 volts is not that bad.

The AC unit is labeled 460 but is designed to work on 480 volt supply system.

They do not make Motors actually labeled 480 volts.
Also most power supply system are useally ± 10% range so with the 480 system you got a bit leeway with it so few voltage over the system is not bad at all

Merci , Marc
"leeway" thats a good thing.
N-Star here, has been running "questionably" low lately.

That makes you worry.

You have a fine stable voltage, no worries.
Leland, frenchele,and iwire,

Thank you for all your responses. It's greatly appreciated. I didn't think it was a problem, but I have a customer and his A/C mechanic is advising him not to run his unit. I feel bad for the customer because he's at a loss for what to to do.

Thanks again!!!!
Originally Posted by acetoday
I have a customer and his A/C mechanic is advising him not to run his unit.

Click on the link for a pdf you can print out with a lot of official information to teach the A/C mechanic, maybe you will print out two and give him one.

Air Conditioning Equipment Voltage Ranges

Basically a 460 tagged unit is designed to run from 432 to 508 volts.
3- one for the customer to rest their worried mind.
Bob said

"Basically a 460 tagged unit is designed to run from 432 to 508 volts."

That is news you can use. I was trying to do the math in my head from the earlier 10% post and I got "brain feeeze" like when you eat ice cream on a hot day.
Bob,