ECN Forum
Posted By: rowd Payscale - 09/13/02 10:21 PM
I'm a independent electrical contractor and am in the process of looking for another electrician in my area to hire for full time/ part time work. I charge by the job and a few friends are telling me I need to pay by the hour. I have no idea what a non-union electrician charges a hour. All the other electricians I know are union scale and affilated. Would appreciate hearing from a few independents what they charge per hour for residential/commercial electrical work. I work in the Chicagoland area.
Posted By: golf junkie Re: Payscale - 09/14/02 12:16 AM
Hi Rowd,
The company I work for charges $30/hour, but it is probably time to raise that again, rural Nebraska.

As a journeyman I would not consider working for you unless you could pay hourly and provide at least 40 hours per week.

Good luck, sounds like your business is growing.

GJ
Posted By: rowd Re: Payscale - 09/14/02 06:28 AM
Thanks GJ. I've heard 35hr and as much as 55hr in my area. Hope to hear from a broader cross section of electricians so I can get a good estimate. I've also heard as low as 20hr.....When I was an apprentice for a private firm I think I was making 10 to 11 dollars an hr.....but that was 20 years ago.
Posted By: fedup Re: Payscale - 09/14/02 09:12 AM
you got to pay enough so your employees can afford titelist golf balls and play the local resort course once a month
Posted By: tsolanto Re: Payscale - 09/14/02 12:07 PM
In Long Island we charge $75.00/hr for service calls and maintenance. $65 to $70 for mechanics rate and $45 for apprentice if we are doing a time and material job.

[This message has been edited by tsolanto (edited 09-14-2002).]
Posted By: golf junkie Re: Payscale - 09/14/02 12:54 PM
"you got to pay enough so your employees can afford titelist golf balls and play the local resort course once a month "

Damn Right! [Linked Image]

GJ
"Wiring America to support my habit"
Posted By: nesparky Re: Payscale - 09/14/02 11:13 PM