ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by tortuga - 03/18/24 08:39 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by tortuga - 03/18/24 04:29 PM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
Test Post
by sabrown - 03/06/24 05:29 PM
Solar PV Wiring Errors
by renosteinke - 03/02/24 09:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 94 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#177141 04/23/08 04:34 AM
Trumpy Offline OP
Want a better defrag program than WinXP gives you?
Try this one, it is FREE.
I've been using it for the last 3 months, no complaints so far.
Here is the link: here

This will not work with any versions older than XP.

G
I didn't think defragging was that important with the new file system. Wasn't that one of the selling points?

Greg Fretwell
J
I downloaded and ran it a few times this weekend. It does work without restarting over and over again as the canned program tends to. It leaves some huge gaps between files though. Maybe part of it is the huge files associated with capturing DTV and video. The auto function defaults to running during <=40% CPU resource usage. It started while I was watching a DTV program and it caused frequent pauses. I tried lowering the resource limit to as low as 5% but that doesn't help. But other than knowing that I'll need to turn it off when I'm using the tuner/capture card, 2 thumbs up! Thanks for sharing, Mike!
Joe
My results are based on a dual core Pentium @ 3.0GHz w 1GB ram running XP Pro
Joe

G
WoW, mIke, this rulez. Did you try the registry error fixer too?

The world is full of beauty if the heart is full of love
Trumpy Offline OP
Originally Posted by gfretwell