ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#129813 09/01/05 08:50 AM
P
Ok, here's what I know about RMS voltage...
The RMS voltage is Vpk/sqrt2
my question is, where do you come up with the square root of 2 (im just beginning calculus, and haven't touched it ever in mathematics, so I'm assuming it's a complex thing.)

Also, let's say you have 3 phase, and put it thru a rectifier so you have pulsating DC, with 3 sine waves, 120 degrees between phases. How do I find RMS voltage with the 3 waves combined like that?

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

#129814 09/01/05 11:09 AM
W
RMS is short for _R_oot _M_ean _S_quare. It is a form of averaging.

I am sure that you are familiar with the ordinary 'average'; you take all of the values, add them up, and divide by the number of values. Say you have 10 people in a room. You take their ages, add them up, and divide by 10 to get the average age in the room.