ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (ale348), 302 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#102024 09/20/04 11:59 AM
S
Savant Offline OP
Hi folks, I need a bit of clarification on the code for a service relocation.

It's been a number of years since I have worked in the electrical trade, (I'm an Electronics Engineering Technician now) but I've always worked to code when I worked in the trade. The majority of my work was commercial/maintenance electrical, so I didn't do too much residential and am not fully familiar with some of the current residential code nuances.

My step-father needs a residential elevator/lift installed, and the only viable location happens to drop it straight in front of their service panel. (Isn’t that always the way?) I advised him that this wouldn't be safe since the elevator would be an obstruction in front of the panel (a clearance of only 4", not to mention a safety hazard if emergency access was needed) and so I have offered to move the panel for him. (plus it's an old fuse box, so an upgrade would be timely) I won't be increasing the service size though, 100A is fine for his needs.