ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#94448 07/30/05 07:34 AM
S
I am an electrician for a small 250 bed hospital.I should say I am thee electrician for the hospital.Anyway we built a new facility 3 years ago.each O.R. suite has its own 120/208V 3 phase panelboard.There is no ground isolation, line isloation monitors or gfcis in the rooms.The rooms are anything but a dry location.The way I understand the code you must have gfcis and if you can't tolerate nuisance tripping you must have a ground isloation panel.Any clarity will help.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

#94449 07/31/05 08:21 AM
R
Don, you are absolutly correct. In N.C. all O.R.'s must be supplied with Isolated Power systems so no problem here. I thought FL still mandated them as well. (guess I was wrong)

For an article from another frustrated Facilty Person on the Wet Location topic, click the link below.
http://www.healthcareengineering.net/archive/phile/Article.aspx?aid=192

And a little more information.
http://www.healthcareengineering.net/archive/phile/Article.aspx?aid=190

Roger