ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 255 guests, and 16 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#165215 06/22/07 11:53 PM
G
So here's one I should know, but my background is lacking. If I have a 12 lead 3 ph 480v motor and there is one connection diagram for wye start and one for delta run, what piece of info do I need to know which one to use?

F
The wye-delta motors are pretty picky with the system.

It will depending on what HP size and also want to give you a head up that you can't really run the wye not for very long [ useally 30 sec max otherwise it will overheat ] and running will be delta connection unless you go DOL [ Driect on line ] i will post a link so you can see the connections look like

Y-D connection [ both 6 and 12 leads]

so that the idea how it hook up

that pretty typical for Y-D and also have Y-D starter as well

Merci, Marc

Pas de problme,il marche n'est-ce pas?"(No problem, it works doesn't it?)

H
Greg,
A specially configured starter is required to start and run a motor in this manner. I believe any twelve lead squirrel cage motor can be operated using the "star-delta" or "wye-delta" method. Three contactors reside in a starter of this type. One of the contactors bridges between 10,11 and 12 during the starting period, which is usually an adjustable time.