ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#38993 06/07/04 10:12 AM
W
winnie Offline OP
ECN forums is an open forum on the internet, and I like it that way. _Anyone_ can join, post, read the answers, etc.

As I've said in the past, I am not an electrical contractor nor a licensed electrician. I work in a lab studying and designing high performance electric motors. I've been studying code because I want to know what the view will be like from 'the other side', when my systems will eventually be installed. I've also been studying code because (like many people) I like to do repairs on my own home, and don't want to be clueless about doing so.

One of the useful aspects of this forum are discussion of how to best accomplish various tasks; tips and tricks for mounting equipment, explanations of advanced theory, etc. However these discussion happen in a context that presumes a certain amount of training and knowledge. There might be a discussion as to weather or not MC cable is required in a particular occupancy, but if the conclusion is that MC is required, the discussion doesn't question the details of how to install MC; it is presumed that the questioner knows about proper MC cable clamps, support requirements, etc. If someone _doesn't_ know these details, then they do know enough to ask.