ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 267 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#30931 11/03/03 11:33 AM
M
Hi,
My name is Jeremy, but I go by mostwanted in the forums in which I belong. I am a CATV installation contractor in the Kansas City area. I am thinking of going to trade school to learn more about this field. I know that it would be just a start. I trained for about a month when I first started as a cable installer, but still didn't know anything about it. I learned most of what I know out in the field.
Anyway, I want some opinions on going to trades school to start. The school claims to place 85-90% in a job. I have heard the other way to get started would be to go thru the local union. I have heard that they don't pay very well to start and the work isn't very steady. I cannot afford to go this route, as I still have a family to support. I apprieciate any information relating to trades schools.

thanks for the great site
MW-

#30932 11/03/03 09:38 PM
J
It's going to be tough no matter what way you go. I would go to the trade school but no matter which route you take when you do get a job you will not be making lots of money. A 1st year helper gets paid 10per hr in my area, not much for a family

#30933 11/03/03 10:04 PM
E