ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (gfretwell), 32 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#28216 08/14/03 05:16 AM
P
pauluk Offline OP
How many of you who do telephone wiring as well as power are finding problems caused by some of the cheap imported junk that's hung onto telephone lines these days?

I've had some bad experiences with the Betacom series, which is sold cheaply in the U.K. In particular, the CTT500 model is being sold in several places, and is a phone with built-in directory and caller ID display.

The first problem I found with one of these had me scratching my head for a while. I was testing another phone on the same line, and occasionally found that I couldn't release the line when hanging up. I put it down to a faulty hook switch at first, then found that the line didn't release when I disconnected the phone at the jack. Bad wiring in the house? Nope, it all checked out O.K.

Eventually, I traced it to this Betacom trash which would sometimes just seize the line for no apparent reason. I only noticed it because I happened to see the Betacom's "line in use" LED come on when it shouldn't have done.