ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
R
RobbieD Offline OP
I'm an apprentice and I have a question. I am used to installing exit sign/emergency light combos. This time I must install an exit sign and an emergency lighting unit seperately. Everything will be surface mounted using emt. I will be running emt from the panel to the box for the exit sign and then to a box to a receptacle next to the lighting unit for it to be plugged into with a cord.The 120VAC circuit will supply both of these devices an no others.There will be no other wires in the conduit. My question is how do I supply the back-up power(6VDC) from the emergency light unit to the exit sign? I want it to look nice. I don't think that I can run 6VDC in the same conduit as the 120VAC.Is the exit sign considered a remote device of the lighting unit in this case? If it is can I run 6VDC in the same conduit as the 120VAC if all conductors are insulated to the highest voltage in the conduit? If not does anyone have any suggestions on how to wire it so it looks nice? Thanks!

W
Hi RobbieD,
Welcome to the board.

This time I must install an exit sign and an emergency lighting unit seperately.{/quote]
Are these separate units or did you separate them? If you did, you shouldn't. It is listed as a complete unit.