ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 250 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
H
I know I have mentioned this in other posts but I am a new Contractor in my area and I am trying to build up some business. Anyone have any tips as to approaching builders and potential clients?

By the way - if you are in Central Ohio and have an excess of work I'll be happy to take some overflow [Linked Image]

M
Happi-man
Unless you have unlimited funds, try advertising locally like newspapers and word of mouth. I am from Ohio too, a small ad in the yellow pages runs from $1200-1800 dollars per year and the bills come everymonth even when things are slow. Getting the first year out of the way is the longest and the hardest part.
Oh and by the way Good Luck
-Mark-

H
Mark-

Definitely don't have unlimited funds. Luckily, I have a mother-in-law who is a retired small business owner and willing to fund our first six months of health insurance. W ehave been at it for nearly a year now but only having weekends and evenings and working our full-time jobs as well. Its been a bitch if I may be so blunt.

As soon as the Insurance is set up we will get one guy going full-time, try to build business and then pick ourselves up as we go...

Thanks for the good wishes and advice!
Mike

E