ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 263 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#182945 12/19/08 04:12 PM
S
My work has almost stopped here. I've had to apply for a regular job several places, still no "takers". I have 37 1/2 years total electrical experience, a NC license and the highest paying job available so far is around $12/hr. besides one that I had to pass up for $16/hr. because I had already obligated myself to a customer of my own. I seen one site that was willing to pay a commercial plummer $26/hr and only required 1 year experience!! What's going on here I wonder? It seems electricians are on the low end of the totem pole when it comes to wages, and our trade seems to be the most hazardous, requires more itemized material, and in my opinion is the most stressful and has the most liability. Maybe it's just my area, but I know friends that are in the furniture business etc. that makes $12 to $14/hr. I'm thinking about going into a totally different field, like working in a warehouse loading trucks crazy
Thanks for listening.... Steve

Last edited by sparkync; 12/19/08 04:13 PM.
Steve:
Here in NJ I 'hear' from EC's the following:

Resi.....very slow. Guys that were very busy (30+ men) are down to <6. Others are 'slow' to 'hanging in there'

Myself, I'm an AHJ; put the tools away mid '07.