ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
UL 508A SPACING
by ale348 - 03/29/24 01:09 AM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (ale348), 302 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#28057 08/09/03 01:39 PM
W
I have a sticky problem. I am remodeling a old house where some of the electrical wiring and main panel has been replaced. The homeowner wanted me to install a range hood and a fluorescent light underneath the sink. I am a licensed contractor, licensed plumber and have a limited electrical license, so I can perform some basic wiring in the proper situations. The new electrical panel is directly outside the kitchen wall where the range hood was to be installed. A feed was already rolled up inside of an outlet box, and the other end was in the main panel, but not yet connected to a breaker.

I removed the single box and installed a double-gang box. Then I made a junction in the box and wired the range hood and a switch to the fluorescent over the sink. I also wired a GFCI outlet in the same box. I tested the GFCI with my plug-in tester and it tested correct.

Here's the first problem. The fluorescent light would not work. I purchased another one and wired it, but it would not work either. I wired the fluorescent light on another circuit, but it still would not work.