ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 483 guests, and 9 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
X
XDude Offline OP
Ok, I am NOT an electrician, but I have a question that you guys might be able to help me out with, I hope.

My mom recently had a washer stop working, then a couple days later her dryer ALSO stopped working, we bought new ones since we needed new ones anyway and didn't think much of it. BUT when we got home after buying new ones our freezer had ALSO stopped working, all these are plugged in the garage. We have been having the power go on and off lately, is it possible that a power surge caused ALL 3 of these to go at once? We've had hundreds of power failures before without any problems throughout the years, my mom won't listen to me when I say it's probably not a power surge, what do you guys think? Thanks

Xdude:
Before you plug any new appliances in....PLEASE contact a qualified (licensed) electrician in your area.

You may have a problem with your electric power in your home; it may be related to your power company; it may only be in your home.

IF you have a "loose" neutral, you may have fluctuating voltage conditions. You may have an "open" neutral; or a myrid of other problems.

It is to involved to explain here.

Think about this:
Professional electrician....$ 100 charge
Replace appliances again....$ 1200.00++

The above figures are inserted for example; the rates for a sparky in your area may be higher or lower; the prices for your appliances you already know.