ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
R
Hello, I am new here and I'm an electrician in California. On this job, we are mounting transformers (480V delta to 208V wye) out on a floating dock system. There is an appropriately sized equipment ground conductor coming in with the 480V conductors feeding the line side. The floating dock system is all constructed of 2" X 2" X 1/8" wall aluminum square tubing with plastic floats bolted to the bottom and deck boards screwed to the top. My question is, what is the best way to install the grounding electrode conductor? My idea was to attach it directly to "building steel" as I would in a building, then have a monster ground conductor bonding the whole dock system to the ground rod on shore (where the 480V comes from). The city is suggesting we run another ground wire parrallel to the equipment grounding conductor, or just upsize the equipment grounding conductor and use it for both the equipment ground and the grounding electrode conductor. What do you think? Thanks brothers and sisters, Ben

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

R