ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#9245 04/22/02 04:16 PM
D
DLinton Offline OP
To All:

I have a topic that I do not know if it has been brought up before or not. I am an Instructor at a Kansas Community College. I read through these forum pages often, and ask some qeustions and make some comments to see how others answer them so I can help my students out. But the qeustion is how many of you have states that require C.E. And how many of you agree or disagree with it. I know we can get into OSHA requirements on Qauified and Un-Qauified but they do not state how much or not. Kansas does not require anymore testing or training after you pass the exams. Just wanting to know your thoughts.

#9246 04/22/02 05:05 PM
M
Dan,

I believe that there should be retests at least every three years or at a minimum, required, documented attendance of a code change seminar of either 8, 16 or 24 hours.

As you mentioned, there are facility "electricians" out there that just know what they need to get by and don't always do things right. We've all come in behind them to fix either related or unrelated problems and seen shotty work.