ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
2 members (Scott35, ampherder), 273 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#89496 09/17/04 12:36 AM
M
MikeP Offline OP
Hello: This is my first time to join and to post a concern I dont know the answer I have tried to find the answer but the NEC is hard to read for a novice like me when it comes to electricity.

I am a safety assistant for a company and I primarily do all the safety inspection and here lately I have come across some issues with electrical panels that I would most apprecite some clarification.

I understand that if it is 600 watts or less it is required a minimun of a 3 foot clearance to the panel.
Here is my question.
If a electrical panel is approximately 5 feet off the floor and there is a trash can in front of it (againt the wall) or a small cabinet and it is not hindering the opening or closing of the panel door is this alright to have?

I would like to find out before I go and put my foot in my mouth as there is always someone at my work that thinks they "know it all' and I need documentation to back it up.

I have completed the OSHA 601 course for the basics and also will be attending several other classes in the near future to broaden my knowledge.

Any comments would be most appreciated!!

Thanks
Mike

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:

>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep