ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 273 guests, and 22 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#8644 03/30/02 08:55 PM
B
Inspired by the thread on "what do you carry on your truck", I'd like to ask: what kind of rig do you carry on your body?(nothing kinky here!).
Being a older electrician, I'm constantly experimenting on carrying an even load on my tool pouches. What has currently worked out is having most of my hand tools on my right side and wire nuts, assorted screws, Fluke T6 multimeter and a few other hand tools on my left. I try not to carry a hammer anymore since I don't do residential work now (I just use the electricians hammer...linesman's!).
I actually put this stuff on a scale and try to keep it down to a bare minimum like a backpacker would and balance the right and left bags. It does get hard on the lower back, so I usually empty it all out once a week and start over.
I've tried carrying a tote tray with stuff I need on a job, but with service work you don't know what you'll get next, and when you dump the remants of your little project in the van (on the way to the next job) you get all these little piles that have to be sorted out sooner or later.
By the by, It's great being able to b.s. with other sparky's on lifes burning questions..keep up the good work!

#8645 03/30/02 09:52 PM
F